Home | Contact | faq | enquiry | sitemap         
  Mathrubhumi Education
University News Institution Scholarships Schools Universities
   PG Entrance
   Regulatory bodies
   Educational Loan
   Ask Expert
   Ask Dr.Sethumadhavan
News & Events  Announcements

JEST - 2013 on Feb 17

Kochi, Nov 10 2012:  Joint Entrance Screening Test - 2013 (JEST - 2013), the common qualifying test for admissions to the Ph.D. Programmes in Physics in the below listed research institutions in India and Theoretical Computer Science in some of them will be conducted on Sunday, February 17, 2013, from 10.00 a.m. to 1.00 p.m. at centers viz. Agartala, Ahmedabad, Aligarh, Bangalore, Bardhaman, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Chennai, Delhi, Goa, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Indore, Jaipur, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Kochi, Kolkata, Madurai, Mumbai, Nagpur, Nainital, Patna, Pune, Raipur, Roorkee, Sambalpur, Silchar, Siliguri, Srinagar, Thiruvananthapuram, Udaipur, Varanasi and Visakhapatnam.

1. ARIES:Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences, Nainital 2. HBNI:Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai 3. HRI: Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad 4. IGCAR: Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam 5. IIA: Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore 6. IISc: Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore 7. IISER MOHALI: Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali 8. IISER PUNE: Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune 9. IISER THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram 10. IMSc: The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai 11. IOP: Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar 12. IPR: Institute for Plasma Research, Gandhinagar 13. IUCAA: Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune 14. JNCASR: Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore 15. NCRA-TIFR: National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, TIFR, Pune 16. NISER: National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar 17. PRL: Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad 18. RRCAT: Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology, Indore 19. RRI: Raman Research Institute, Bangalore 20. SINP: Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata 21. SNBNCBS: Satyendra Nath Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata 22. UGC-DAE CSR: UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research, Indore 23. VECC: Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Kolkata


Physics:  • M.Sc. in Physics or M.Sc. / M.E. / M.Tech. in related disciplines.  • M.Sc. in Mathematics / Applied Physics / Applied Mathematics / Optics and Photonics / Instrumentation / Electronics will also be considered at IIA.  • B.E. or B.Tech. will also be considered at IISc, IMSc, IUCAA, JNCASR, NCRA-TIFR RRI, IISER Mohali, IISER Pune, IISER Thiruvananthapuram and SNBNCBS.  • Talented final year B.Sc. and first year M.Sc. in Physics / Electronics / Astronomy / Applied Mathematics students may also apply to be pre-selected for research scholarship at IUCAA.  • MSc  in Physics, Engineering Physics or Applied Physics will also be considered at IPR.
Theoretical Computer Science:  • M.Sc./ M.E. / M.Tech. / M.C.A. in Computer Science and related disciplines, and should be interested in the mathematical aspects of computer science. Visit website of IMSc for further details.
Integrated M.Sc. / M.Tech - Ph.D Programme  • At HRI, IISER-Pune,  SNBNCBS, and NCRA-TIFR candidates with a Bachelor's degree will also be considered for the integrated M.Sc., Ph.D. programme in Physics.  • At IMSc, graduates with Bachelor’s degree in science/ mathematics/ /statistics /computer science/information technology/Engineering will also be considered for admission in Physics and in Theoretical Computer Science, as part of an integrated Ph.D. programme. All candidates successful in the course work of this programme shall be awarded an M.Sc. degree.  • At SNBNCBS, graduates with B.Sc. (Physics) / B.E. / B.Tech. degree will be considered for the integrated Post-B.Sc.-Ph.D. programme in subject areas mentioned above.  • At IIA, graduates with B.Sc. (Physics / Mathematics) / B.E. / B.Tech. in Electrical / Instrumentation / Engineering Physics / Electronics and Communications / Computer Science and Engineering / Optics and Photonics will be considered.
Integrated M.Tech - Ph.D. Programme at IIA  • Graduates with M.Sc. (Physics / Applied Physics) / Post-B.Sc. (Hons) in Optics and Optoelectronics / Radio Physics and Electronics / B.E. / B.Tech. degree in subjects mentioned above will be considered. Visit IIA website for details. 

Integrated Ph.D. Programme at IISER, Thiruvananthapuram.  • Graduates with Bachelor’s degree in Physics/Technology/Engineering will be considered for the Int. Ph.D. programme in Physics.


Candidates for Physics/Theoretical Computer Science can apply ON-LINE through the web page http://www.jest.org.in On-line submission of application remains open from November 10, 2012 to December 10, 2012. An Application Fee of Rs. 100 (Rs 50 for SC/ST applicants) is required to be paid to the following account, at any Branch of the State Bank of India  or Associated Banks of SBI using the standard Pay-in slip and collect the counterfoil.
A/c No.: 32602922844. Name  : JEST 2013. Amount: Rs.100/-  (for SC/ST Rs.50/-).

Send the proof of payment to the JEST authorities by either of the following means, after obtaining your Unique Submission Number  by following these instructions. Write your Name and Unique Submission Number on receipt/counterfoil/challan and scan and send by email to jest.2013@saha.ac.in with a subject line : Receipt/Counterfoil/Challan. OR Write your Name and Unique Submission Number on receipt/counterfoil/challan and send by post to: JEST-2013, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Sector-1, Block-AF, Bidhannagar, Kolkata-700 064, India. Alternately, Fee can be paid by obtaining a DD and mailed to the above postal address: Proof of payment should reach the authorities on or before: December 15, 2012.

For further details, logon to the website: http://www.jest.org.in

Bookmark and Share
Email This Page|Print
      home  | contact  | feedback | disclaimer | advertisements  |  sitemap
Mathrubhumi © Copyright 2007 Mathrubhumi. All right reserved.